KC Porter, producer of Santana, Michael Jackson and Ricky Martin, releases Cuban music album

KC Porter, producer of Santana, Michael Jackson and Ricky Martin, releases Cuban music album

The album “KC Porter presents: Azabache de Cuba (La calle está caliente)” is a co-production between Insignia Records and Meta Platforms, Inc.

American music producer KC Porter premiered on all digital platforms the album «KC Porter presents: Azabache de Cuba (La calle está caliente)», dedicated entirely to traditional Cuban music.

The album is a journey through various Cuban genres and rhythms.  Together with Azabache, a group from Santiago de Cuba, singers and musicians from the entire eastern Cuban region participate, making up an all-star group.

“I am a great admirer of traditional Cuban music.  I consider that it is the matrix of a lot of music that is currently being made in the world.  I always wanted to be part of a production like this, with an emphasis on the musical roots of Cuba,” said the prominent producer.

KC Porter is one of the producers with the most impact in the world in the last 30 years.  He has won several Grammys and Latin Grammys.  He worked on more than 40 albums with tens of millions in sales.  He is internationally known for his work on the classic «Supernatural», by Santana, and on albums and singles by great artists such as Selena, Shakira, Janet Jackson, Laura Pausini, Celine Dion, Gloria Estefan, Michael Jackson, Ricky Martin, Santana, Luis Miguel, Sting, Alejandro Sanz, Usher, and Justin Timberlake among many others.

The album was recorded and mixed entirely in Santiago de Cuba by Iván Salas, and remixed and mastered in Los Angeles by Javier Valdeavellano. 

In Cuba, it was co-produced by Alden González and Damián Busqueta, under the musical direction of Wilber Jesús Cos.  Brent Bourgeois, Leslie Barton and the entire team at Meta Platforms has an important participation in the executive production.

“I have really enjoyed producing this album, and I am especially fascinated by its flavor, it’s “Sabor”, its spontaneity.  We have recorded music that stems from the ability to improvise, an ability that the Cuban musician from the village, from the street, has.  We are sharing with the world a lot of unreleased and undiscovered traditional Cuban music”, added KC Porter.

Album co-producer Alden González, says he was, «very happy that one of the most relevant producers in the world music industry has decided to bet on traditional Cuban music.»

 «We have been very excited in all the processes of this production that contains many unique takes and very little editing, much of its richness is in its naturalness,» he said.

Musicians and singers from different groups participate in the album, such as Unión Sanluisera, Estrellas de la Charanga, Sonora La Calle, Los Guanches, Los Karachi, Septeto Turquino, Changüí Santiago and Conga de Los Hoyos, among others.

Tracklist and genres:

1- Guantanamera mi amor (Son – guaguancó)
2- La casa por la ventana (Sucu suco)
3- La calle está caliente (Son)
4- Vamos pa’l batey (Nengón)
5- Ya se acabó el querer (Rumba)
6- Ay caray (Kiribá)
7- Contrólate (Songo)
8- Linda mujer (Danzón)
9- A la loma (Changüí)
10-Conga le voy a dar (Conga)

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *